Who We Are:

Friends of Mayer (FOM), a not-for-profit, all-volunteer, parent-run organization, is committed to raising funds and building community to support the mission and day-to-day operations of Mayer Magnet School. Read our bylaws HERE.

Working directly with the Mayer administrative team, teachers, staff and the Local School Council, Friends of Mayer is able to provide the support needed to maintain Mayer’s excellence in education. FOM works to create an inclusive environment for all Mayer families to feel a part of our strong school community. It is due to the passion, drive and determination of this strong community that we are able to preserve Mayer’s future of excellence.

The FOM Board is comprised of parent volunteers elected to a one-year term. A list of board members is provided below. We are always seeking enthusiastic parents to become more involved with FOM in a variety of ways and welcome your input and new ideas. FOM meetings are held monthly and we encourage you to attend and participate whenever possible.

Friends of Mayer Board:

President: Melissa Kaeser - president@friendsofmayer.org

Communications Co-VP: Roona Shah - friends@friendsofmayer.org

Communications Co-VP: Tara Konecny

Treasurer: Sandy Baccam - treasurer@friendsofmayer.org

Assistant Treasurer: Damla Gerhart

Secretary: Nikki Weldzius

Fundraising VP: Nisha Hazra

Walkathon Chair: Melissa Herman

Volunteer Coordinator: Deni Mayer

Benefit Chair: Natalie Patterson

Room Parent Liaison and Benefit Co-Chair: Julie Zwick

Community VP: Julie Schulhof

Sponsorship Co-Chair: Sarah Polachek

Sponsorship Co-Chair: Alison Hirsch

Bulldog Heroes: Melissa Seiler

EC Teacher Rep: Katie Edmond

MYP Teacher Rep: Rory Muchow