Who We Are

Friends of Mayer (FOM), a not-for-profit, all-volunteer, parent-run organization, is committed to raising funds and building community to support the mission and day-to-day operations of Mayer Magnet School. Working directly with the Mayer administrative team, teachers, staff and the Local School Council, Friends of Mayer is able to provide the support needed to maintain Mayer’s excellence in education. FOM works to create an inclusive environment for all Mayer families to feel a part of our strong school community. It is due to the passion, drive and determination of this strong community that we are able to preserve Mayer’s Future of Excellence.

The FOM Board is comprised of parent volunteers elected to a one-year term. A list of board members is provided below. We are always seeking enthusiastic parents to become more involved with FOM in a variety of ways and welcome your input and new ideas. FOM meetings are held monthly and we encourage you to attend and participate whenever possible.

Friends of Mayer Board

First Name Last Name Main Role Officer Roles
Erika Vogel President


Roona Shah Communications VP


Sandy Baccam Treasurer


Olivia Lopez Assistant Treasurer Officer
Tara Konecny Secretary Officer
Melissa Kaeser Fundraising VP Officer
Natalie Meadows Walkathon Chair
Deni Mayer Volunteer Coordinator
Natalie Patterson Benefit Chair
Julie Zwick Room Parent Liaison and Benefit Co-Chair
Julie Schulhof Community VP
Melissa Seiler Bulldog Heroes
Firouzeh Rismiller Sponsorship VP  Officer


We are also fortunate to have two Mayer teachers as members of our board:

Katie Edmonds – EC/ELI Teacher Rep

Rory Murchow – ELII/MYP Teacher Rep


To see all the great things we are doing, you can also visit us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/FriendsOfMayer. To join our mailing list, please email us at friends@friendsofmayer.org.